matthijs/master-project/report.git
9 years agoPrevent page breaks directly before boxed typings.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 8 Dec 2009 10:15:28 +0000 (11:15 +0100)]
Prevent page breaks directly before boxed typings.

9 years agoRestart numbering of footnotes on every page.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 21:07:40 +0000 (22:07 +0100)]
Restart numbering of footnotes on every page.

9 years agoAdd boxes around two figures.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:52:47 +0000 (21:52 +0100)]
Add boxes around two figures.

9 years agoUnify examples, figures and definitions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:51:42 +0000 (21:51 +0100)]
Unify examples, figures and definitions.

They now all use the same numbering and all have their captions at the
top.

9 years agoPrevent spaces after citations from being gobbled.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:42:30 +0000 (21:42 +0100)]
Prevent spaces after citations from being gobbled.

9 years agoFix some more header stuff.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:42:10 +0000 (21:42 +0100)]
Fix some more header stuff.

9 years agoMisc fixes from own review.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:41:35 +0000 (21:41 +0100)]
Misc fixes from own review.

9 years agoAdd a VHDL typing style (and some other fixes).
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:05:56 +0000 (21:05 +0100)]
Add a VHDL typing style (and some other fixes).

This was an attempt to get line numbering on the VHDL files, but
apparently line numbering is broken in MkIV. Oh well, at least it added
a nice box around the VHDL.

9 years agoFix the font of footnotes.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 20:05:29 +0000 (21:05 +0100)]
Fix the font of footnotes.

It now has a lambda!

9 years agoSet up headers, footers and page numbers.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 19:58:12 +0000 (20:58 +0100)]
Set up headers, footers and page numbers.

9 years agoImprove the layout of intermezzos.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 19:08:39 +0000 (20:08 +0100)]
Improve the layout of intermezzos.

In particular, don't put spacing above and below it, which looks ugly.

9 years agoMove a sidenote.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 14:25:27 +0000 (15:25 +0100)]
Move a sidenote.

9 years agoDisable display of TODO's.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 14:24:21 +0000 (15:24 +0100)]
Disable display of TODO's.

9 years agoUse η/β-expansion instead of η/β-abstraction.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 14:19:48 +0000 (15:19 +0100)]
Use η/β-expansion instead of η/β-abstraction.

9 years agoAdd Scrutinee binder removal.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 14:17:42 +0000 (15:17 +0100)]
Add Scrutinee binder removal.

9 years agoMove some examples around.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:51:24 +0000 (14:51 +0100)]
Move some examples around.

9 years agoActually refer to the intended normal form definition.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:39:27 +0000 (14:39 +0100)]
Actually refer to the intended normal form definition.

9 years agoSome more fixed resulting from Jan's comments.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:38:16 +0000 (14:38 +0100)]
Some more fixed resulting from Jan's comments.

9 years agoAlways use a lowercase letter after a colon.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:17:24 +0000 (14:17 +0100)]
Always use a lowercase letter after a colon.

9 years agoImprove some wordings.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:13:09 +0000 (14:13 +0100)]
Improve some wordings.

9 years agoAdd sitenote about arguments vs. inputs.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 13:07:24 +0000 (14:07 +0100)]
Add sitenote about arguments vs. inputs.

9 years agoFix a reference.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 12:44:02 +0000 (13:44 +0100)]
Fix a reference.

9 years agoAdd intermezzo on wild binders.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:53:09 +0000 (11:53 +0100)]
Add intermezzo on wild binders.

9 years agoImprove the titlepage.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:48:18 +0000 (11:48 +0100)]
Improve the titlepage.

9 years agoAdd an intermezzo about the id function.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:43:31 +0000 (11:43 +0100)]
Add an intermezzo about the id function.

9 years agoAdd some content to the case normalization section.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:42:38 +0000 (11:42 +0100)]
Add some content to the case normalization section.

9 years agoRemove deprecated paragraph.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:11:21 +0000 (11:11 +0100)]
Remove deprecated paragraph.

9 years agoRemove TODO (links were made non-bold a few commits back).
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:04:42 +0000 (11:04 +0100)]
Remove TODO (links were made non-bold a few commits back).

9 years agoMove references to the larger margin.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 10:03:24 +0000 (11:03 +0100)]
Move references to the larger margin.

9 years agoUse \VHDL\ (etc.) instead of relying on \autoinsertnextspace.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:57:23 +0000 (10:57 +0100)]
Use \VHDL\ (etc.) instead of relying on \autoinsertnextspace.

The \autoinsertnextspace macro is not always reliable and was removed in
a recent ConTeXt version.

9 years agoRemove TODO.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:51:43 +0000 (10:51 +0100)]
Remove TODO.

9 years agoSay something about not using simplified core.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:50:59 +0000 (10:50 +0100)]
Say something about not using simplified core.

9 years agoRemove some TODOs.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:42:34 +0000 (10:42 +0100)]
Remove some TODOs.

9 years agoAdd a section on simulation.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:40:27 +0000 (10:40 +0100)]
Add a section on simulation.

9 years agoUse normal style zeroes instead of using the sans font.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 09:18:17 +0000 (10:18 +0100)]
Use normal style zeroes instead of using the sans font.

9 years agoDon't suggest messing with the clock input.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 08:38:11 +0000 (09:38 +0100)]
Don't suggest messing with the clock input.

Instead, use a register's write enable port.

9 years agoMove the Template Haskell intermezzo a bit down.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 07:18:08 +0000 (08:18 +0100)]
Move the Template Haskell intermezzo a bit down.

9 years agoInvert the intermezzo offset.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 07:17:25 +0000 (08:17 +0100)]
Invert the intermezzo offset.

This looks way better for left margin intermezzo's and doesn't seem to
matter much on right ones.

9 years agoSet up doublesided margins and pagenumbering.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 07:16:25 +0000 (08:16 +0100)]
Set up doublesided margins and pagenumbering.

9 years agoPut one more 0 in another font.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 00:16:27 +0000 (01:16 +0100)]
Put one more 0 in another font.

9 years agoFix things following from comments from Marco and Sabih.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 7 Dec 2009 00:10:28 +0000 (01:10 +0100)]
Fix things following from comments from Marco and Sabih.

9 years agoAdd reference about Core's operational semantics.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 20:17:28 +0000 (21:17 +0100)]
Add reference about Core's operational semantics.

9 years agoFix a lot of things following from Jan's comments.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 20:08:39 +0000 (21:08 +0100)]
Fix a lot of things following from Jan's comments.

9 years agoImprove strikethrough a bit.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 18:30:10 +0000 (19:30 +0100)]
Improve strikethrough a bit.

9 years agoRemove debug print from pret-lam.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 17:23:08 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
Remove debug print from pret-lam.

9 years agoLimit luatex to 500M of virtual memory.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 17:13:12 +0000 (18:13 +0100)]
Limit luatex to 500M of virtual memory.

Luatex has the tendency to bring down the entire system when it goes
into some infinite loop.

9 years agoMake a var local (again) in pret-lam.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 17:11:53 +0000 (18:11 +0100)]
Make a var local (again) in pret-lam.

9 years agoPrettyprint comments in italic.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 16:18:42 +0000 (17:18 +0100)]
Prettyprint comments in italic.

9 years agoAdd strikethrough to the lambda prettyprinter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 15:55:28 +0000 (16:55 +0100)]
Add strikethrough to the lambda prettyprinter.

9 years agoAdd TODO.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sun, 6 Dec 2009 15:55:01 +0000 (16:55 +0100)]
Add TODO.

9 years agoVarious small fixes following from Bert's commentaar.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 23:32:21 +0000 (00:32 +0100)]
Various small fixes following from Bert's commentaar.

9 years agoAdd backmatter commands.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 21:05:46 +0000 (22:05 +0100)]
Add backmatter commands.

9 years agoRemove unused defref.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 21:03:25 +0000 (22:03 +0100)]
Remove unused defref.

9 years agoRemove a TODO.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:52:02 +0000 (21:52 +0100)]
Remove a TODO.

9 years agoReplace statement with expression everywhere.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:49:56 +0000 (21:49 +0100)]
Replace statement with expression everywhere.

9 years agoAdd another reference.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:43:17 +0000 (21:43 +0100)]
Add another reference.

9 years agoAdd some references to the context chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:24:41 +0000 (21:24 +0100)]
Add some references to the context chapter.

9 years agoMake sure the list of references is numbered.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 20:22:56 +0000 (21:22 +0100)]
Make sure the list of references is numbered.

9 years agoFix todo's in the introduction chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 17:21:33 +0000 (18:21 +0100)]
Fix todo's in the introduction chapter.

9 years agoAllow passing a once option to scons.
Matthijs Kooijman [Sat, 5 Dec 2009 17:19:06 +0000 (18:19 +0100)]
Allow passing a once option to scons.

9 years agoSetup bibtex.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 22:04:54 +0000 (23:04 +0100)]
Setup bibtex.

9 years agoAdd section on EDSLs.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 21:56:15 +0000 (22:56 +0100)]
Add section on EDSLs.

9 years agoNote that we've not considered EDSLs and TH.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 21:52:12 +0000 (22:52 +0100)]
Note that we've not considered EDSLs and TH.

9 years agoFinalize section on state in prototype chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 21:07:39 +0000 (22:07 +0100)]
Finalize section on state in prototype chapter.

9 years agoPartially update state annotations section in the prototype chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 19:05:42 +0000 (20:05 +0100)]
Partially update state annotations section in the prototype chapter.

This is an unfinished commit, to store intermediate progress.

9 years agoRequire an automatic subscript to start with a number.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 15:54:15 +0000 (16:54 +0100)]
Require an automatic subscript to start with a number.

9 years agoRemove todo.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 13:08:43 +0000 (14:08 +0100)]
Remove todo.

9 years agoImprove graph representation section a bit.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 13:03:24 +0000 (14:03 +0100)]
Improve graph representation section a bit.

9 years agoRemove todo.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 12:53:26 +0000 (13:53 +0100)]
Remove todo.

9 years agoImprove conclusions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 12:52:30 +0000 (13:52 +0100)]
Improve conclusions.

9 years agoMake a small start on the state annotations section.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 4 Dec 2009 09:48:10 +0000 (10:48 +0100)]
Make a small start on the state annotations section.

9 years agoNote the use of tuples for hierarchic state.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 17:23:51 +0000 (18:23 +0100)]
Note the use of tuples for hierarchic state.

9 years agoFix unbalanced parenthesises.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 17:16:57 +0000 (18:16 +0100)]
Fix unbalanced parenthesises.

9 years agoUpdate conclusions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 17:16:12 +0000 (18:16 +0100)]
Update conclusions.

9 years agoAdd a section on normalization of stateful descriptions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 16:43:16 +0000 (17:43 +0100)]
Add a section on normalization of stateful descriptions.

9 years agoAdd missing parenthesis.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 15:22:16 +0000 (16:22 +0100)]
Add missing parenthesis.

9 years agoAdd initial sketch for conclusions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 3 Dec 2009 13:23:35 +0000 (14:23 +0100)]
Add initial sketch for conclusions.

9 years agoReference the substitution intermezzo.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 15:02:24 +0000 (16:02 +0100)]
Reference the substitution intermezzo.

9 years agoAdd TODO.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 14:51:54 +0000 (15:51 +0100)]
Add TODO.

9 years agoSolve and remove some todos.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 14:51:30 +0000 (15:51 +0100)]
Solve and remove some todos.

9 years agoAdd an intermezzo about substitution.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 14:50:42 +0000 (15:50 +0100)]
Add an intermezzo about substitution.

This is the first attempt at an intermezzo, which is not quite ideal yet,
but it works for now.

9 years agoBuild the pdf only once each time.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 12:33:41 +0000 (13:33 +0100)]
Build the pdf only once each time.

This might leave incorrect references, but speeds up the process.

9 years agoFix reference.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 11:26:10 +0000 (12:26 +0100)]
Fix reference.

9 years agoFix typo.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 11:25:34 +0000 (12:25 +0100)]
Fix typo.

9 years agoMove some more stuff around in the Normalization chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Dec 2009 11:16:47 +0000 (12:16 +0100)]
Move some more stuff around in the Normalization chapter.

9 years agoFix two references.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 19:55:06 +0000 (20:55 +0100)]
Fix two references.

9 years agoRename example function app2 to twice.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 19:53:35 +0000 (20:53 +0100)]
Rename example function app2 to twice.

app2 would get the 2 in subscript, which might be confusing.

9 years agoUse \$ instead of just $ in lambda expressions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 19:52:05 +0000 (20:52 +0100)]
Use \$ instead of just $ in lambda expressions.

This prevents vim's syntax highlighting from screwing up.

9 years agoRestructure and expand parts of the normalization chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 19:40:46 +0000 (20:40 +0100)]
Restructure and expand parts of the normalization chapter.

9 years agoDocument the use of type annotations on variable references.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 11:43:07 +0000 (12:43 +0100)]
Document the use of type annotations on variable references.

9 years agoRemove some whitespace.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 11:13:23 +0000 (12:13 +0100)]
Remove some whitespace.

9 years agoChange the symbol used for casting to ▶.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:59:35 +0000 (11:59 +0100)]
Change the symbol used for casting to ▶.

This removes the ambiguity between using :: for explicitly casting and for
showing the type of an expression.

9 years agoSupport ▶ in the lambda prettyprinter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:57:27 +0000 (11:57 +0100)]
Support ▶ in the lambda prettyprinter.

We'll have to use the glyph from our roman font, since our sans font
doesn't have it.

9 years agoAdd note about β-reduction for type variables.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Dec 2009 10:12:27 +0000 (11:12 +0100)]
Add note about β-reduction for type variables.

9 years agoRestructure some of the normalization chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 22:22:14 +0000 (23:22 +0100)]
Restructure some of the normalization chapter.

9 years agoSome minor fixes and improvements.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 20:54:28 +0000 (21:54 +0100)]
Some minor fixes and improvements.

9 years agoPut a VHDL in smallcaps.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 20:45:34 +0000 (21:45 +0100)]
Put a VHDL in smallcaps.

9 years agoFix two references.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 20:09:01 +0000 (21:09 +0100)]
Fix two references.

9 years agoFinalize the proofs section.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 19:50:12 +0000 (20:50 +0100)]
Finalize the proofs section.

Also add a section about proofs to the future work section.

9 years agoAdd vim modelines.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 30 Nov 2009 10:26:18 +0000 (11:26 +0100)]
Add vim modelines.