matthijs/master-project/report.git
11 years agoReshuffle all transformations into categories.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 11:14:15 +0000 (12:14 +0100)]
Reshuffle all transformations into categories.

This changes no text, only ordering and indentation. Transformation are
now put into a few categories (which still need an introductory text).

11 years agoAllow lambda expression to be indented.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 11:14:00 +0000 (12:14 +0100)]
Allow lambda expression to be indented.

11 years agoAllow transformations to be indented.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 2 Nov 2009 10:54:52 +0000 (11:54 +0100)]
Allow transformations to be indented.

11 years agoAdd some stuff about provable properties of our system.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 30 Oct 2009 16:42:54 +0000 (17:42 +0100)]
Add some stuff about provable properties of our system.

This section is still incomplete, the actual (ideas for) proofs still need
to be written.

11 years agoFix lua reference to ctxcatcodes.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 30 Oct 2009 11:55:48 +0000 (12:55 +0100)]
Fix lua reference to ctxcatcodes.

Apparently something changed in context, making the old code not work (in
a weird and unexpected way).

11 years agoAdd some extra outline to the Hardware Description chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 30 Oct 2009 10:08:48 +0000 (11:08 +0100)]
Add some extra outline to the Hardware Description chapter.

11 years agoAdd more content to the Hardware Description chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 28 Oct 2009 16:42:25 +0000 (17:42 +0100)]
Add more content to the Hardware Description chapter.

11 years agoFinish state section in hardware description chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 16:55:22 +0000 (17:55 +0100)]
Finish state section in hardware description chapter.

Also move a bunch to the prototype chapter, since it is Haskell specific.

11 years agoAdd some more stuff about state.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 14:07:10 +0000 (15:07 +0100)]
Add some more stuff about state.

11 years agoAdd two pictures.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 11:16:30 +0000 (12:16 +0100)]
Add two pictures.

11 years agoAdd some more context.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 26 Oct 2009 10:23:45 +0000 (11:23 +0100)]
Add some more context.

11 years agoAdd some context.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 20:34:50 +0000 (22:34 +0200)]
Add some context.

11 years agoAdd some more content to the State section.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 19:03:28 +0000 (21:03 +0200)]
Add some more content to the State section.

11 years agoAdd a Context chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 14:29:08 +0000 (16:29 +0200)]
Add a Context chapter.

11 years agoUse \in instead of \at to refer to section numbers.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 13:16:43 +0000 (15:16 +0200)]
Use \in instead of \at to refer to section numbers.

\at refers to page numbers instead.

11 years agoMove the example float definition to Utils/.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 11:27:34 +0000 (13:27 +0200)]
Move the example float definition to Utils/.

11 years agoAdd \typebufferhs command to Haskell-typeset a buffer.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 23 Oct 2009 11:25:51 +0000 (13:25 +0200)]
Add \typebufferhs command to Haskell-typeset a buffer.

11 years agoActually compile the Future work chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 21 Oct 2009 13:15:32 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
Actually compile the Future work chapter.

11 years agoAdd section label.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 21 Oct 2009 13:15:15 +0000 (15:15 +0200)]
Add section label.

11 years ago(Almost) finish the future work chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 21 Oct 2009 13:11:31 +0000 (15:11 +0200)]
(Almost) finish the future work chapter.

Only the first two sections need some expansion.

11 years agoMove the State chapter into the Hardware Description chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 20 Oct 2009 09:35:46 +0000 (11:35 +0200)]
Move the State chapter into the Hardware Description chapter.

11 years agoAdd a section on expressions in the Core language.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 15 Oct 2009 16:33:25 +0000 (18:33 +0200)]
Add a section on expressions in the Core language.

There should be another (sub)section on typing in the Core language.

11 years agoMake "DEFAULT" a keyword.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 15 Oct 2009 16:33:15 +0000 (18:33 +0200)]
Make "DEFAULT" a keyword.

11 years agoAllow commas in implicit subscripts.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 13 Oct 2009 10:09:23 +0000 (12:09 +0200)]
Allow commas in implicit subscripts.

11 years agoFix typo.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 12 Oct 2009 11:24:04 +0000 (13:24 +0200)]
Fix typo.

11 years agoSplit "extended β-reduction" into two transformations.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 12 Oct 2009 11:15:45 +0000 (13:15 +0200)]
Split "extended β-reduction" into two transformations.

11 years agoLet \refdef generate clickable links.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 12 Oct 2009 10:41:59 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
Let \refdef generate clickable links.

11 years agoEnable interaction (clickable links) in the table of contents.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 12 Oct 2009 10:41:42 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
Enable interaction (clickable links) in the table of contents.

11 years agoEnable interaction (clickable links).
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 12 Oct 2009 10:41:32 +0000 (12:41 +0200)]
Enable interaction (clickable links).

11 years agoReset quotation settings after changing them.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 9 Oct 2009 15:18:58 +0000 (17:18 +0200)]
Reset quotation settings after changing them.

This partly works around a possible bug in Context, where \setupquotation
also affects (breaks) \quote output.

11 years agoUpdate the definitions section and add references.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 9 Oct 2009 13:50:33 +0000 (15:50 +0200)]
Update the definitions section and add references.

11 years agoAdd macros for definitions and inmargin references to them.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 9 Oct 2009 13:50:56 +0000 (15:50 +0200)]
Add macros for definitions and inmargin references to them.

11 years agoRestructure the section structure of the Normalization chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 9 Oct 2009 09:15:13 +0000 (11:15 +0200)]
Restructure the section structure of the Normalization chapter.

11 years agoImprove and clarify transformation format definition.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 8 Oct 2009 15:07:21 +0000 (17:07 +0200)]
Improve and clarify transformation format definition.

11 years agoAdd a section on binder uniqueness.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 8 Oct 2009 12:42:50 +0000 (14:42 +0200)]
Add a section on binder uniqueness.

11 years agoAdd note about differences between Core and the graphical version.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 08:51:49 +0000 (10:51 +0200)]
Add note about differences between Core and the graphical version.

11 years agoAdd note to the outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 08:50:01 +0000 (10:50 +0200)]
Add note to the outline.

11 years agoReduce randomization in horizontal lines.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 08:44:37 +0000 (10:44 +0200)]
Reduce randomization in horizontal lines.

11 years agoUse a dotted lines to separate context in a transformation.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 6 Oct 2009 08:36:49 +0000 (10:36 +0200)]
Use a dotted lines to separate context in a transformation.

11 years agoPut "VHDL" in small caps everywhere.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 12:19:39 +0000 (14:19 +0200)]
Put "VHDL" in small caps everywhere.

11 years agoRestructure the introduction of the Normalization chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 12:17:07 +0000 (14:17 +0200)]
Restructure the introduction of the Normalization chapter.

It now builds up to the formal definition using smaller examples, which
should make the chapter more easy to understand.

11 years agoVertically center the register output port.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 12:15:42 +0000 (14:15 +0200)]
Vertically center the register output port.

11 years agoAdd a "sel" point for the selector to the multiplexers.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 11:32:27 +0000 (13:32 +0200)]
Add a "sel" point for the selector to the multiplexers.

11 years agoMake multiplexers a bit smaller.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 11:31:54 +0000 (13:31 +0200)]
Make multiplexers a bit smaller.

11 years agoAdd a "definition" float.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 10:20:24 +0000 (12:20 +0200)]
Add a "definition" float.

11 years agoLimit randomizations of boxes by the minimum dimension.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 5 Oct 2009 10:17:54 +0000 (12:17 +0200)]
Limit randomizations of boxes by the minimum dimension.

Previously, the amount of randomizations was determined by the width only,
causing full width but low boxes to be heavily randomized.

11 years agoAdd two new simple normal form examples.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 2 Oct 2009 11:31:24 +0000 (13:31 +0200)]
Add two new simple normal form examples.

11 years agoAdd boxedgraphic macro to display a metapost graphic with a border.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 14:00:53 +0000 (16:00 +0200)]
Add boxedgraphic macro to display a metapost graphic with a border.

11 years agoAdd \typebufferlam helper macro.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 13:59:58 +0000 (15:59 +0200)]
Add \typebufferlam helper macro.

This macro formats the contents of a buffer with lambda code, with a nice
box around it. This makes up for the fact that Context doesn't have such a
macro.

11 years agoUse width=fit for startboxed and remove startwideboxed.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 10:39:02 +0000 (12:39 +0200)]
Use width=fit for startboxed and remove startwideboxed.

Using width=fit makes the correct for transformations as well, so there is
no more need for a seperate full textwidth framedtext context.

11 years agoSome minor wording fixes.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 10:29:43 +0000 (12:29 +0200)]
Some minor wording fixes.

11 years agoAdd multiplexer metapost object.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 1 Oct 2009 10:29:02 +0000 (12:29 +0200)]
Add multiplexer metapost object.

11 years agoAdd a midpoint Metapost macro.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:10:31 +0000 (17:10 +0200)]
Add a midpoint Metapost macro.

11 years agoRandomize the transformation HLine a bit.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 15:10:12 +0000 (17:10 +0200)]
Randomize the transformation HLine a bit.

11 years agoFix type in comment.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 14:23:57 +0000 (16:23 +0200)]
Fix type in comment.

11 years agoUpdate outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 12:50:46 +0000 (14:50 +0200)]
Update outline.

11 years agoDon't use uniqueMPgraphic for randomized graphics.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 11:58:42 +0000 (13:58 +0200)]
Don't use uniqueMPgraphic for randomized graphics.

Since uniqueMPgraphics are only evaluated once for every set of variables
(width, height, etc.), every box with the same size is randomized in the
same way. Using useMPgraphics ensures that the graphics are redrawn every
time.

11 years agoUse \HLine instead of \blackrule in transformations.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 11:57:22 +0000 (13:57 +0200)]
Use \HLine instead of \blackrule in transformations.

11 years agoAdd \HLine command that draws a horizontal line.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 11:56:09 +0000 (13:56 +0200)]
Add \HLine command that draws a horizontal line.

This line is drawn using metapost, to make it look more consistent with
the other boxes etc.

11 years agoAdd TODO about globbed spaces after \eg and \ie.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 30 Sep 2009 09:39:55 +0000 (11:39 +0200)]
Add TODO about globbed spaces after \eg and \ie.

11 years agoMake the box randomization scale with the box size.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 16:06:54 +0000 (18:06 +0200)]
Make the box randomization scale with the box size.

Previously, small boxes would sometimes be warped to much, causing content
to fall out.

11 years agoPut a fancy box around transformation examples as well.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 16:02:00 +0000 (18:02 +0200)]
Put a fancy box around transformation examples as well.

11 years agoTweak the sizes of the frames in transformations a bit.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 15:43:18 +0000 (17:43 +0200)]
Tweak the sizes of the frames in transformations a bit.

Because we added an extra frame before, with its own offset, the frames
used to put the transformation and conditions next to each other became a
bit too big.

11 years agoAdd pretty boxes around various typing environments.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 15:42:50 +0000 (17:42 +0200)]
Add pretty boxes around various typing environments.

11 years agoAdd labels to all chapters.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 14:50:39 +0000 (16:50 +0200)]
Add labels to all chapters.

11 years agoFurther expand the Prototype chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 14:22:50 +0000 (16:22 +0200)]
Further expand the Prototype chapter.

11 years agoUse save instead of clearObj in a MP drawing.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 29 Sep 2009 12:04:32 +0000 (14:04 +0200)]
Use save instead of clearObj in a MP drawing.

11 years agoMake a start with the prototype chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 18:37:34 +0000 (20:37 +0200)]
Make a start with the prototype chapter.

11 years agoAdd "New language" to the outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 18:37:10 +0000 (20:37 +0200)]
Add "New language" to the outline.

11 years agoAdd outline for Prototype chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 28 Sep 2009 17:00:26 +0000 (19:00 +0200)]
Add outline for Prototype chapter.

11 years agoAdd a section on research goals and an outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 24 Sep 2009 14:16:05 +0000 (16:16 +0200)]
Add a section on research goals and an outline.

11 years agoUpdate outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 24 Sep 2009 14:15:33 +0000 (16:15 +0200)]
Update outline.

11 years agoAdd a hack to make \overrightarrow work in MetaPost.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 23 Sep 2009 13:41:14 +0000 (15:41 +0200)]
Add a hack to make \overrightarrow work in MetaPost.

11 years agoDefine a custom "Register" MetaObj object.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 23 Sep 2009 13:40:58 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
Define a custom "Register" MetaObj object.

11 years agoSet up MetaPost and MetaObj for drawing diagrams.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 23 Sep 2009 13:40:22 +0000 (15:40 +0200)]
Set up MetaPost and MetaObj for drawing diagrams.

11 years agoRun texexec under nice.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 23 Sep 2009 13:21:34 +0000 (15:21 +0200)]
Run texexec under nice.

Previously, luatex had the habit of choking up all memory and making the
system (temporarily) non-responsive. Perhaps this helps.

11 years agoUse the moder math font, since it has vector arrows.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 18 Sep 2009 13:03:20 +0000 (15:03 +0200)]
Use the moder math font, since it has vector arrows.

11 years agoActually use the Introduction chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 16 Sep 2009 15:02:57 +0000 (17:02 +0200)]
Actually use the Introduction chapter.

11 years agoUse old style numbers when available.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 16 Sep 2009 12:52:03 +0000 (14:52 +0200)]
Use old style numbers when available.

11 years agoAdd a brainstorm for an outline.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 9 Sep 2009 17:56:28 +0000 (19:56 +0200)]
Add a brainstorm for an outline.

11 years agoAdd (a start of) an introduction).
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 9 Sep 2009 17:55:58 +0000 (19:55 +0200)]
Add (a start of) an introduction).

11 years agoAdd a bit content to a new Future Work chapter.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 9 Sep 2009 15:53:31 +0000 (17:53 +0200)]
Add a bit content to a new Future Work chapter.

11 years agoRemove the example sequence, it was completely out of date.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 09:17:18 +0000 (11:17 +0200)]
Remove the example sequence, it was completely out of date.

11 years agoImprove some text and add definitions in Normalization.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 09:16:48 +0000 (11:16 +0200)]
Improve some text and add definitions in Normalization.

11 years agoAdd a small bit of whitespace beteen paragraphs.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 09:16:31 +0000 (11:16 +0200)]
Add a small bit of whitespace beteen paragraphs.

11 years agoDefine \epmh{foo} for easy emphasis.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 09:15:28 +0000 (11:15 +0200)]
Define \epmh{foo} for easy emphasis.

Normally, only {\em foo} works, but that is ugly and can add whitespace
in some cases (such as at the start of a line). The solution for the
latter, {\em{}foo} is even uglier.

11 years agoAdd letrec and letnonrec as keywords to pret-lam.
Matthijs Kooijman [Wed, 2 Sep 2009 09:13:15 +0000 (11:13 +0200)]
Add letrec and letnonrec as keywords to pret-lam.

11 years agoUpdate a bunch more transformations.
Matthijs Kooijman [Tue, 1 Sep 2009 20:18:25 +0000 (22:18 +0200)]
Update a bunch more transformations.

This almost completes the transformation specifications.

11 years agoAdd content to a bunch more transformations.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 31 Aug 2009 17:12:16 +0000 (19:12 +0200)]
Add content to a bunch more transformations.

11 years agoReorder and complete the list of transformations.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 31 Aug 2009 16:32:35 +0000 (18:32 +0200)]
Reorder and complete the list of transformations.

This does not add any content, except for updating β-reduction.

11 years agoAdd a bit spacing after a transformation.
Matthijs Kooijman [Mon, 31 Aug 2009 16:32:14 +0000 (18:32 +0200)]
Add a bit spacing after a transformation.

Or rather, don't remove it.

11 years agoAdd a new definition of the normal form.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 19:41:15 +0000 (21:41 +0200)]
Add a new definition of the normal form.

This definition uses a sort of EBNF.

11 years agoMake pret-lam preserve alignment using whitespace.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 13:23:46 +0000 (15:23 +0200)]
Make pret-lam preserve alignment using whitespace.

This is slightly complicated, but it should work properly in most cases.

11 years agoDeclare variables as local in pret-lam.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 12:04:04 +0000 (14:04 +0200)]
Declare variables as local in pret-lam.

11 years agoSupport the | character in pret-lam.
Matthijs Kooijman [Fri, 28 Aug 2009 12:02:37 +0000 (14:02 +0200)]
Support the | character in pret-lam.

11 years agoRemove explicit subscription underscores.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 27 Aug 2009 11:46:44 +0000 (13:46 +0200)]
Remove explicit subscription underscores.

These are now autodetected.

11 years agoUpdate normal form example.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 27 Aug 2009 11:46:35 +0000 (13:46 +0200)]
Update normal form example.

11 years agoLet all lambda expressions in pret-trans share subscript detection.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 27 Aug 2009 11:44:23 +0000 (13:44 +0200)]
Let all lambda expressions in pret-trans share subscript detection.

11 years agoLet pret-lam support blocks of multiple lambda expressions.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 27 Aug 2009 11:42:57 +0000 (13:42 +0200)]
Let pret-lam support blocks of multiple lambda expressions.

This enables subscript detection from one lambda expression or buffer to
influence the lambda detection in other buffer.

11 years agoUse local variables for storing visualizer dicts.
Matthijs Kooijman [Thu, 27 Aug 2009 11:45:19 +0000 (13:45 +0200)]
Use local variables for storing visualizer dicts.

Using global variables could cause problems when pretty printers call
eachother and use the vis variable.